‘Changing MPs’ forces elections, not consensus, for parliamentary committees — Naharnet

So-called “change MPs,” or lawmakers from the Oct. 17 uprising, on Tuesday imposed elections — rather than the traditional consensus — to choose members of parliamentary committees.

The election of members of the finance and justice committees took a long time, the National News Agency said, while President Nabih Berri denounced the lack of “consensus”.

“Without consensus, you can’t finish even if you take a week, and I hope there will be less. Committees are the real kitchen” of parliament, Berri added.

MP Waddah al-Sadek from the “forces of change” meanwhile suggested the creation of two new commissions – one to abolish political sectarianism and the other to modernize the statutes of parliament.

Elections were then held to select members of the finance and justice committees as foreign affairs members; information and telecommunications; youth and sports; human rights; and women’s and children’s affairs won outright.

Below are the names of the elected members of the Finance & Budget and Administration & Justice Commissions:

– Finances & Budget: Ibrahim Kanaan, Raji al-Saad, Ali Hassan Khalil, Ayyoub Hmayyed, Alain Aoun, Jihad al-Samad, Hassan Fadlallah, Michel Mouawad, Salim Aoun, Ghada Ayyoub, Jean Talouzian, Fouad Makhzoumi, Ghazi Zoaiter, Ali Fayyad, Ghassan Hasbani, Ihab Matar and Ibrahim Mneimneh

– Administration & Justice: George Adwan, Ibrahim Kanaan, Qabalan Qabalan, George Okais, Ashraf Baydoun, Ali Hassan Khalil, Marwan Hamadeh, Ghada Ayyoub, Hassan Ezzeddine, Ghazi Zoaiter, Hussein al-Hajj Hassan, George Atallah, Ali Khreis, Imad al -Hout, Oussama Saad, Bilal Abdallah and Nadim Gemayel

Previous Crime, Education, Discussed in Maryland Governor's Debate | National policy
Next Treasury Secretary Yellen expects inflation to 'stay high' | National policy